Words for Wednesday (How to love yourself in Photos)

Ok, so here are my words for Wednesday.  They are quite motivational and need to be read several times to get them through.  How to love yourself in photos!

We as humans tend to be the hardest on ourselves.  I’ve heard this time and time again from people.  I will love a photo, show it to them.  And, they HATE it!  Hate everything about the photo.  I go home edit the photo and post it to Facebook.  And then they LOVE IT!  LOVE it to the moon and back, absolutely L-O-V-E IT!  Why?!  It’s not because I edit the photos very much.  I do slight touches here and there. But, for the most part it’s the exact same photo.

There is one reason why I think people dislike the photos at first when they see them in the back of my camera.

  1.  Because they have a complex with themselves:

First and foremost people have a major complex when it comes to themselves.  I have had several photographers that I know take a beautiful photo of this GEORGOUS person.  And, the person hates it!  Because they pick at everything about themselves.  There is this one thing that no matter who takes the photo they will always see it in the photo.

So, I have started saying this to people when I take their photos.

“It doesn’t matter if it is a million dollar photographer that takes your photo.  If you have a complex with something about yourself, you will see it in the photos!”

“With me you don’t have a complex, this is about you!  This is meant to be fun, exciting, amazing, and I give you permission to LOVE yourself!  Love yourself like you always mean to love yourself!”

I don’t take photos for someone to look back at them and think ‘YUCK! I don’t like how I look in that photo!’

And here is the reason why I think they love the photo after it’s posted to Facebook:

  1.  Because they post it to their page and get a bajillion ‘LIKES’ from family and friends.  With everyone saying how great the photo is.  They get that outside gratification that they needed.

The best part about that is when it comes time to do another photo shoot.  They are more relaxed and have more fun the second, third and so on, times.

Well, here it is people, LOVE YOURSELF!  I give you permission to love the photos, to share them, brag about them.  And, most of all to enjoy the time you have with me.  It’s meant to be fun and exciting!

 

 

Leave a Reply

